Skip to main content
Staff Pick
Don't Cry for Me

Don't Cry for Me

Current price: $26.99
Publication Date: February 1st, 2022
Publisher:
Hanover Square Press
ISBN:
9781335425737
Pages:
304
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Staff Reviews

In an emotional and challenging examination of a man's mistakes, this novel captured and destroyed my heart in equal measure! Jacob, a black father dying from cancer writes letters to his estranged gay son to try and make amends for his past. He details the expectations he was taught about how black men "should" behave, look, and live. I have never read from this perspective, but I'm glad that I did. This is a poignant exploration of toxic masculinity and a heartbreaking story, but it is one that I will never forget. cw: homophobia, cancer, generational trauma, suicide, bullying, racism, slavery, sexual assault

— Janisie

This book blew me away. Through intimate letters to his son, Jacob reconciles with the man he could have been. Daniel Black creates a stunning work on ancestral heritage, history, family, and the legacy of being a Black man in America.

Lauren Nopenz Fairley, Curious Iguana, Frederick, MD
February 2022 Indie Next List

Description

*A Book of the Month Club Pick*

NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK IN ESSENCE MAGAZINE, THE MILLIONS AND BOOKISH

"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song."--Jesmyn Ward

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker

As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob's role as a father and his reaction to Isaac's being gay.

But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace.

With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.